And Then I Dissapeared…

A view from John's Mountain on the Pinhoti trail in Georgia.  This is from one of my training runs for my 50 mile race.

A view from John’s Mountain on the Pinhoti trail in Georgia. This is from one of my training runs for my 50 mile race.

When I began this blog back in 2012 my goal was simply to provide me a means to keep my self accountable.  At the start of the year I weighed close to 365 and had numerous health issues of notable concern. As I trained for my first 5k and eventually triathlons this blog transformed into a means to share my journey.  That was over three years ago, almost four at this point and things have changed.  I have now not only ran a 5k and finished a triathlon bu have finished a wide range of races and distances.  Along the way I have shared this story, my achievements and frustrations, documenting my growth and development as an armature athlete.  During this journey there have been a few periods where my blog went silent, but rarely did these periods last more than a few weeks.

20150815_182209This current silence has lasted longer than usual.  I recently started a new job while concurrently I began training for my first 50 mile point to point race (I ran 55 miles in a 24 hour race, a totally different experience as that involved running a fixed mileage loop over a fairly flat course).  With a very slim window of available extra time the blog unfortunately has lied dormant for the last two months.

Past Month

I have been a bit busy running in preparation for my first 50 mile race at the end of September. My last two Saturdays have involved runs of 26 and 28 miles.

Now that I have been at my new job a bit and I have adjusted to the heavy training schedule involved in preparing for my first 50 miler I would like to continue to share my journey and my story and hopefully some of my old readers will return and will continue to follow along again.  I regret I have neglected this blog as sharing my experiences with my WordPress blog community has been a great joy.  So hopefully I will be back to publishing frequently.  I look forward to continuing to share my adventure and story and I hope I can maintain some sort of frequency moving forward.  It is time to start this conversation again and I hope you will enjoy reading and following along as I attempt new physical pursuits.  I am glad to be back and sharing.

Til next time.

6 comments

  1. I didn’t know you when you started the blog but I’ve come to admire you greatly, what you’ve lost, what you’ve gained, what you’ve become is all so inspirational. I am always ready for tales from your latest adventure. Congrats on the new job and on embarking on your 50 miler. That’s quite the achievement but so is what you’ve been doing all along. Keep it up!

    1. Thank you. It has been a crazy adventure. I personally do not see how you get out a post a day. I really just try to be honest and forthcoming.

  2. I’m glad that you are back, and that you’re still going crazy on the mileage! 🙂 Congratulations, on your working out and your new job!

    1. Thank you Sandra. Been lurking I the shadows, it’s hard juggling 50+ mile weeks and a job…oh yeah and a wife. Glad to be back.

  3. I just happened upon your blog and I wish you all the best over the next month as you train and taper! I just completed a 50 miler last weekend and really enjoyed the day. It is an admirable goal! Here is my report, if you’re interested:
    https://alongapath.wordpress.com/2015/08/27/give-the-people-what-they-want/
    Cheers!

    1. Thank you,I will definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

