Reflections of A Chilly February

My yearly running miles.  Currently, as of February I have totalled  465 miles in two months with  555,458 feet of elevation gained.

My yearly running miles. Currently, as of February I have totalled 465 miles in two months with 555,458 feet of elevation gained.

February proved cold and bitter, providing great new seasonal challenges to my running regimen.  A few of my training runs felt almost spring like, but winter dominated in the form of frequent bitter cold and snowy dispatch.  Of course I did not let weather hinder my focus and resolve to improve my long distance capabities this year, instead I embraced the weather thrown at me and relished the new experiences.

For me February’s milage dropped a bit, but only because I started a new job and had a few personal issues to resolve.  Unlike January’s whopping 250 mile assault, I still had close to 200 miles for the past month, a number I am very pleased with.  With two months of this year completed and 465 miles in the bank I am on my way to reaching my 2,000 mile goal for the year.

Last year I finished the half marathon in 3:45, this year I hit the half marathon at 3:34 and went on to finish the marathon in 7:24.

Last year I finished the half marathon in 3:45, this year I hit the half marathon at 3:34 and went on to finish the marathon in 7:24.

The highlight of the month of course was finishing my first marathon in an amazing effort.  Without rehashing the details again, I pushed myself harder than I had ever done so before, proving that the work I have put in over the past two months have definately paid off and if I keep working at it, I should continue to see improvements (details can be found here).

The one thing I really want to try to improve this month is a bit more cross training.  I would like to resume swimming laps again and have begun to refocus on at least a once a week pilates session and upper body weight lifting session.  March will prove interesting number wise as I  head into my first major race of the season, with a two week planned taper that will effect my mileage goals.  But I am not running for the sake of miles, I am running to improve my finish times in long distance races.

That race at the end of March is a warm up for my 24 hour race I have planned in June and is half the time, 12 hours.  I feel my training to this point has added the resilience needed for a timed running event and I am looking forward to trying out this format of distance race.  I have many questions about logistics for my 24 hour race that the race at the end of the month will help to answer.  For March I am going to try to make weight lifting and pilates a weekly habit that will suplement my running and I will try to get some swimming mixed back in again just to add some needed variety.  Not training for triathlons this year has proved to be rewarding to my trail and ultra running ambitions as I am able to focus and dedicate myself to a single athletic focus.  February was a good month, March will be even better.  Til next time.

5 comments

  1. Sure, you look overall better one year later…but the real difference maker is the beard.

    1. It’s all about the beard. Thanks man.

  2. The way you’ve turned to ultra running is impressive! Good luck on March goals!

    1. It was tougher recovering and keeping with my schedule. Thanks.

    2. Cynthia, you you. Sounds like you have some pretty ambitious goals this year.

Leave a Reply

