Starting Off the New Years

One of the Cool things about the 301 trail is all the water falls.

One of the Cool things about the 301 trail is all the water falls.

At the start of 2014 I kicked off New Year’s day with the Resolution Run 10k road race.  In 2013 I completed my first year as an athlete, completing three triathlons and numerous 5ks, 10ks and other distances as well as a half marathon to finish the year.  I had made some great running friends in that year and I was super happy to share the start of 2014 with them.  In 2014 I found myself pulling away from road races and more onto trails, and unfortunately spending less time with my road running friends.  I found myself involved more with the ultra and trail running crowd, but training on trails often was a solitary affair.  Often I found myself out running on trails for hours without talking to a soul.  While I loved starting 2014 with my road running family, the Resolution Run changed location and format this year so I opted to go the solo route for my New Year’s day run.

RunStats

Elevation profile.

Elevation profile.

For my New Year Day’s run I chose to run on the 301 cycling trail at Fort Mountain State Park.  I was running the same route as the last half of the Mystery Mountain Marathon.  This trail is treacherously technical, with rolling rocks, slippery muddy ground, large ascents and any other number of numerous challenges. These trails are tough to run on and are marked as very technical for cyclists.  Very few people are on these trails in the best weather and at this time of year these trails are in rough condition with blow downs covering most of the trail.

First climb of the year! 500 feet in half a mile, some of the grades are greater than ten percent.

First climb of the year! 500 feet in half a mile, some of the grades are greater than ten percent.

After the climb is a steep 1200 foot drop over two miles.  Great way to start a run.

After the climb is a steep 1200 foot drop over two miles. Great way to start a run.

Mile 4, a small waterfall.

Mile 4, a small waterfall.

20141226_151432

At mile 10-11 the trail become super steep.  For 2.5 miles the trail climbs over 1300 feet.  For the entire climb there is a massive waterfall rushing down the mountain.  Water everywhere.  This area is so remote there are very few people on this section of trail.

At mile 10-11 the trail become super steep. For 2.5 miles the trail climbs over 1300 feet. For the entire climb there is a massive waterfall rushing down the mountain. Water everywhere. This area is so remote there are very few people on this section of trail.

One last view and back down the starting climb!

One last view and back down the power line, the starting climb!

I have big plans for this year and this was a great way to start the year.  Wonderful views, tough climbs and trails were a great way to start the year off. I missed spending the new year with my road running friends, but this run provided a great cornerstone towards my 2015 goals, which I will discuss in a later post. Til next time.

 

Leave a Reply

