2014 By the Numbers

TransformIn my last two posts I summerized my 2014 athletics season.  I deliberately omitted numbers and charts til this post as I wanted one post to just focus on what I achieved numbers wise.  One of the biggest trends of this year resulted in my focus transitioning from triathlon performance to ultra running distances.  At the beginning of the year I wanted to run 800 miles and bike 1000, but by the middle of the year I had changed that goal and reduced my expectaitions regarding cycling mileage.

Totals

Yearly total hours and mileage broken down by discipline. I broke my year up into 3 parts.

The craziest number is the 1270 miles of running and 114K feet of elevation gain for the year.  In 2013 I ran a total of 307 miles, i more than doubled that this year.  I do not know my elevation from the year previous, but I am certain I destroyed the previous years numbers, as I do not shy away from running on hills and mountains.  One of the biggest changes across the years involved running less than fifteen miles a week to running closer to fifty miles or more each week.

My running numbers according to Strava.

My running numbers according to Strava.

RunningTotals

Break down of my 1270 miles for the year.

Besides running, I think my open water swim proficiencies have really flourished.  I spent many hours swimming long distances in a wide variety of environments including the ocean.  My Jacksonville triathlon  involved numerous ocean swims leading up to the event. Towards the end of the year I had a pinched nerve in my shoulder that reduced my swimming time, as well as my strength sessions.

Hours completed by activity type.  Its obvious by the end of the year I had become very one sided in my focus.  Need to continue to swim, do pilates and strength train in 2015.

Hours completed by activity type. Its obvious by the end of the year I had become very one sided in my focus. Need to continue to swim, do pilates and strength train in 2015.

breakdown

Total hours completed for each type of activity.

Overall I think I have had a great year by the numbers.  I ran longer and further than ever before and I further defined who I am as an athlete.  The one item I want to focus on pushing forward is continuing to swim and strength train as well as increase my time and focus more on pilates.  I dropped these from my workout schedule later in the year due to the increase in running mileage and a pinched nerve.  I believe they have lead to some of the IT band issues I have faced in my 50k.

Overall a great year for me, even though I did not complete my cycling goals.  Next year I think I am going to try and focus more on distance running with a big aim on reducing my 50k finishing times.  But that is 2015.  Til next time.

Leave a Reply

