Time To Get Back To Work

It has been a little while since I last posted to this blog or been involved in the numerous blogs I follow, just a little over three weeks.  While I would love to blame the holidays and post 50k depression, in reality I was knocked out due to a non-running injury that occurred a few days after my 50k race.  Basically I was trying to handle some issues on the property where I live when I slipped on some mud and my knee went out from under me at an odd angle.  It ended up being only a sprain, but it resulted in weeks of non activity.  That injury left me in a bit of a depression as I was forced to do nothing but rest, elevate and ice the knee for several weeks  So I took some time off from training and even from participating in this wordpress fitness community.

Initially I thought my knee was just tweaked a bit so on Thanksgiving Day I ran the Atlanta Half Marathon, the same one that was my first marathon ever, ,the year before.  My knee felt funny at the start and by the last miles the entire knee was on fire.  This was one of my slowest half marathon finishes.

Initially I thought my knee was just tweaked a bit so on Thanksgiving Day I ran the Atlanta Half Marathon, the same one that was my first marathon ever, ,the year before. My knee felt funny at the start and by the last miles the entire knee was on fire. This was one of my slowest half marathon finishes.

The resulting time off provided an unidentified need for some downtime from the physical abuse I put myself through getting to the finish of my first ultra marathon.  After the weeks of forced rest without out adjusted eating habits I unfortunately have put on a little over ten pounds of additional weight.  My first run back last Tuesday, Christmas eve, proved difficult.  The extra weight and lack of fitness for weeks made a simple eight mile run difficult.  I used to be able to run this eight mile route without out stopping in less than a 15 minute per mile pace.   This first outing I was lucky if I could hit 16 mpm pace.  It was terrible and sluggish.  But the knee felt ok.  The doctor told me to take it easy and ease back into my program.

First trail run after several weeks off. I was supposed to be taking it easy.

First trail run after several weeks off. I was supposed to be taking it easy.

Friday I decided to go trail running and I put in an eleven mile trail run in some beautiful rugged terrain.  I know I was supposed to take it easy, but I could not help challenging myself a bit.  Then on Sunday I finished off my first week back with a fun free local event that was set on a super wet, muddy, hilly six mile loop course.  It  was so wet out, my feet were never dry the entire day and often the rivers the course went over were deeper than usual.  The entire course was often ankle deep or deeper under water.  After two fun loops, I was muddy, wet and pretty banged up and settled for an after run beer.  I completed two loops for roughly 13 miles.

The Yeti Spaghetti trail marathon and fun run.  My second trail run with an unofficial race on super muddy slick trails with tons of water crossings.

The Yeti Spaghetti trail marathon and fun run. My second trail run with an unofficial race on super muddy slick trails with tons of water crossings. I had a bad slip and fall and my knee was a mass of blood and mud oozing down my leg.

My runs for my first week off of injury. I failed at taking it easy.

My runs for my first week off of injury. I failed at taking it easy.

So in my first week back to running, where I was told to take it easy I completed 31 miles of running, mostly on extremely technical trails and difficult circumstances.  I am heavier than I was before my 50k and right now slower, but overall the knee feels good.  So its time to get back to work, I have big plans for 2015.  Til next time.

17 comments

  1. Glad you’re back and better. I had some disappointments this year too. Btw, how is your strength training? Is it helping your training?

    1. My strength training had been lacking lately. It’s one of the areas I really need to work on next year.

      1. I need to do a better job with it too but when I do strength training, I find it easier to lose weight, especially when I’ve hit a plateau. Also my fastest run times was when I was doing core workouts in the summer. Daily Planks and strength training are my top bits of advice for 2015 training.

        1. It’s argued it bulks you up to much, but even upper body helps my body burn calories. Lower lifting I find makes the tough trail runs easier,I just run better add a strong runner. I want to add some 8 to 10 second hill dashes in next. They are supposed to help tons with leg speed.

  2. By “easy” I don’t think your doctor meant 8 miles & 11 trail miles, but glad you’re back. Rehabbing from an injury is something runners are not noted for being good at. It’s more important than anything though. Hope you’re back in full swing soon!

    1. Thank you, I played it by ear and by the time I ran on Sunday I was feeling good. Now I just have to heal up the scraped knees. BTW I am looking to race in Portland at the end of March!

      1. Sweet! Keep me posted! Portland is a drive for me but my best west coast running buddy lives there so I’m always game if time & money allows.

        1. Running a race in the Cascade Locks, Will keep you informed.

          1. I live East of the Cascades. Is the race really in Portland? Or Oregon?

  3. Welcome back brother – glad the knee held up for you.

    1. It has been sore, but not in the bad state it was where the entire knee cap was on fire. I guess its good to check out every so often. Thanks for still being here.

      1. My pleasure brother.

  4. Isn’t it nice to be able to say “a simple eight mile run”? I look forward to being able to say that! You have come so far! So glad you’re back! And I’m looking forward to hearing about your goals for 2015!

    1. I am absent minded about what’s easy and hard. Thank you for being herethis past year, have enjoyed sharing your and mine adventures.

      1. Me too! 🙂

        1. I realized I had a problem when I looked at Strava feed and I saw peoplse mileage in the 20s to 60’s and I just assumed they were running. Most were cycling, but my goggles need new tinting. lOL.

Leave a Reply

