February Wrap Up And March Goals

The finisher medals of each of my three half marathons, completed 86 days apart, two within six days.  From the right Thanksgiving 2013 Atlanta Half,  February 16 2014 Locomotive Half Marathon, and February 24 2014 Xterra Thrill In the Hills 21k and 42k.

The finisher medals of each of my three half marathons, completed 86 days apart, two within six days. From the right Thanksgiving 2013 Atlanta Half, February 16 2014 Locomotive Half Marathon, and February 24 2014 Xterra Thrill In the Hills 21k and 42k.

Lately my blogging habits have been utter rubbish.  If I have been lucky I have managed maybe a feeble post a week.  Of course this trend is not a result of creative drought, instead its a product of an extreme training schedule mixed with hectic work demands, the Olympics and extreme weather.  All that aside February was both good and bad.

February Goals.

February Goals.

February Totals.  Highlight here is how close to 90 miles for the month I cam in my running program.

February Totals. Highlight here is how close to 90 miles for the month I cam in my running program.

Out of all of my number based goal metrics the only one I exceeded was in the run department.  This was no shock as its the focus of my training this year, taking first priority.  Additionally, when frozen in my house I still managed to get outside for some icy/snowy running.  By the end of the month I had achieved eighty eight miles of running, just two miles shy of ninety miles for the month. The bigger running achievements for February was the completion of Half Marathons two and three, both completed six days apart.  This allowed me to join the Half Fanatics group and is one of the big highlights of my brief running career.

The area I really suffered in was in the spin and swim categories.  AS I was glued to my television for the Olympics and I had a week of being stuck at home due to weather, I missed allot of meters in the pool and time on the saddle.  What work i did get I still believe provided good quality workouts and I feel like I am getting faster and stronger in both pursuits.

Year to date total breakdown.

Year to date total breakdown.

MonthGoalsPNGMarch Goals

Since I missed my targets in spin and swim I am going to keep them for this month and aim to complete these workouts.  Running wise I intend on pushing forward with my big plan, but March will be lighter with fewer long running races.  In March I am running a 1 AM 5k race and a night time 5 mile trail race.  That is the extent of my racing for the month of March. Compared to February where I had two half marathons back to back, this will be much lighter and will allow me to focus on preparing for my April races.

Initially my plan for April was to do my final Half marathon before starting my triathlon season, all my training have been focused on this last half marathon.  Recently I found a Ragnar team to join for the Atlanta Ragnar Trail relay race (Ill post more on this later).  Basically this is a 22-24 hour trail relay race where one of eight runners is on the course at a given time, running non stop til all miles are covered.  The kicker is that this falls a week after I finish my night time 5 mile run, in the first week of April.  Thus my biggest goal this month is to continue to train for my final half marathon of the first part of this year and prepare myself for running three legs of trails with little rest, at all hours of the day.  Additionally I have to push on with my spin and swim training for my triathlons in May.

In a  way March feels lighter than February, but I still have big goals I want to achieve to prepare myself for the months ahead and their challenges.  I am extremely excited about running on trails at night and getting to participate in a Ragnar trail relay.  Of course for now, preparing for summer’s challenges is a nonstop motivation to keep plugging away at my goals.  Everything I do this month will have tremendous benefits later.  The February race schedule wore me out a bit and I am ready for a month of training with easier races.  Of course I will probably say otherwise later in March. Til next time.

4 comments

  1. Given the conditions I think you did very respectable overall in February. Too bad you didn’t have a trainer to set up in front of the TV for the Olympics – you could have gotten in some good spin miles that way. 🙂

    March is looking good for you as you prepare for the season. Let’s hope the weather cooperates.

    1. The weather is unpredictable these days, and I never have a clue if its going to be cold or warm. Here is to spring coming and staying for a while.

  2. […] I mentioned in my last post (here) my biggest goal right now is to prepare for the Ragnar Atlanta trail relay race.  For the […]

  3. […] is in the books, surprising me how fast things are moving this month.  As I mentioned previously (here) my goals for March are simple: continue to prepare for triathlon season and focusing on my […]

Leave a Reply

