2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers

My numbers from October 2012 to the end of October 2013.

My numbers from October 2012 to the end of October 2013.

I have been looking forward to this post for a bit, time for some introspective analysis of my season based on the breakdown of the numbers.  If you need to catch up on the other posts in this series:

1. How it all began

2. Heading to Triathlon

Like so many other new athletes I love my spreadsheets and numbers, I have been collecting them all year.  Sometimes I was uncertain what I wanted to achieve with these numbers so I just collected them, while working to define and refine my collection and storage methods.  At the end of the season I fell into a fairly comfortable pattern:

  1. Upload the data from my Timex Global Trainer (I think I am  one of the few still using this device) into Training peaks.  This is the native data format of the device and I like the ability to see my weekly distribution in a calender format.
  2. Convert file and upload to Strava if its run, bike or open water swim.  Strava has a great presentation that is easy to share and the elevation data is normalized without additional cost.  My numbers for my runs entered into the spreadsheet come from Training Peaks while Strava is used mostly for my cycling.
  3. Copy the data at the end of the week into my tracking spreadsheet.  The spreadsheet has my season schedule and monthly/focus breakdowns with all my volume and mileage.  This also keeps a record of my total season numbers, half season numbers and any other derivation I am interested in using.

Allot of steps, but this is what I have gotten used to.  For the sake of comparison in the remainder of my examination of my numbers, my season for this year started in October of last year,2012, as that was the best start point to get me to my beginning of April triathlon.  For the sake of comparison the numbers run to the end of October 2013 for right now, detailing my inaugural  triathlon season conclusion.  I am continuing to accumulate the remainder of the year and the my remaining running season.

Volume breakdown by phase.  As the year progressed I began to increase the high quality, higher volume work.  Less strength and pilates sessions with more Swim, Bike and Run focused workouts.

Volume breakdown by phase. As the year progressed I began to increase the high quality, higher volume work. Less strength and pilates sessions with more Swim, Bike and Run focused workouts.

This year was my first year of doing anything athletic and I think I achieved allot in my inaugural season.  I know I grew and developed greatly as an athlete as the season moved to its conclusion.  As this was my first season of athletics and triathlon I had to learn how to balance three sports and everything that went with it.  My intent for this season was to focus on some serious volume building and to increase my endurance.  When I started my muscles had very little base of endurance and tired easily.  For this reason I had to start off really low with my volume in my initial workouts and while the hours seem fine, they mask an underlying slowness that caused the hours to spike.  I think up until and maybe a little bit after my first triathlon the volume focused on not wearing myself out and constantly trying to push my endurance a little further.  By the end of the season and even into the off season I have discovered it is really easy to do two a day workouts without too much extra effort.  I would say overall my endurance shot through the roof as I neared the end of my season and my volume increased dramatically.  Also according to the component breakdown chart I think I became a more consistent and better focused athlete after my July recovery and slow down month.

After July I feel I got better juggling the three triathlon components.

After July I feel I got better juggling the three triathlon components. TDC Phase marked my first big cycling event.

Numbers wise I think I could have gotten more consistent mileage from my running numbers and the bike numbers mostly came from the end of the season.  Overall I am very pleased with almost 850 miles of cycling and 300 miles of running.  Swimming seems to big one of my biggest numbers with almost 127,000 meters of swimming, almost 87 miles.  Overall for my first season I am very pleased with the distances covered.  Bike wise I would like to get to 1000 miles next year and running wise I would like to get 500 miles for next year.

Overall I have had an amazing years and I have put together a very solid volume of work for this year.  More importantly, I now have a base to devise my plan for next year.  One of the primary key understandings coming from this season involved learning how to train, listen to my body and know  how far I could push myself.  I developed an ability to set goals, make plans to achieve them and execute the plan to completion.

The next couple of installments will focus on my races and each of the three disciplines.

Til next time.,

 

 

12 comments

  1. I thought I liked numbers! My spread sheet and Garmin stuff look pretty basic compared to what you have here.

    1. Honestly it started out really simple and sorta grew with time.

  2. sweatingforit · · Reply

    Wow! I thought I was into data, but not at all compared to you! That’s really cool.

    1. Maybe one day I will put the mess that is my spreadsheet up online. There are huge sections of dead ends where I thought I would try and track something for it to be useless. These are the numbers I could understand. I think… thanks.

  3. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  10. […] 2013 Triathlon Season In Review: By the Numbers (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

