Something New

My Saturday/Sunday evening/morning run.

My Saturday/Sunday evening/morning run.

So far this off season I have been fighting.  I have not been fighting to get my workouts in, instead I have struggled to keep them  under control.  I got so used to the long hours associated with the season that spending thirty quick minutes to workout feels almost comical.  But its in the plan I am following, it will get me to the start of my next season.  I know this and I am working to stick to the plan.  Most importantly what matters is that I am resting, healing and overall having fun.

My Saturday morning run.

My Saturday morning run.

In the vein of fun I have an interesting challenge this weekend two 5k running races, one day. I am sure my triathlete hardened (yet still a bit squishy) body can take the stress of two back races in less than 24 hours.  The two races are slightly spaced out.  The first race will be ran Saturday at 8 A.M.  This is the 5th of 6 races in this series, I have ran them all so far.  This course has a hill or two and finishes on a fast down hill.  My best time so far has been 39 minutes on this course. The second race occurs on Saturday evening/Sunday Morning at 1 AM.  The idea is that as you run the clock goes backward and you finish before you start.  Kitchy but great fun.  I ran this race last year as my second 5k ever and I loved every minute of it.  There were vendors and music and food.  This year its promising to be even bigger and better than last year.  The course is moderately flat and basically looping around a mall.

Like everything else, I am just stressing a little bit, this is new territory.  Should I strategize or just go all out on the first race and then run whatever is left for the second or should I go for a smooth and reliable pacing strategy that will ensure I have some extra gas in the tank for the second race? As I said, this is new territory.  Right now I am leaning to have a good solid run in the first race then go home take a good nap.  Follow the nap with packet pickup, dinner and a movie.  I should be good and relaxed and hopefully would have stretched through out the day to keep loose.  Then I will take the second race by ear and see how things feel. If worse comes to worse, I run it slower, at best I get below 40 minutes.  Regardless, should be fun!! Til next time.

What is the most challenging  race(s) or race experience you have done?

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a Sweatvac race hat here.

11 comments

  1. My last half, the St Louis half last weekend, was by far the most challenging, mentally and physically, that I have ever run. But that it that much sweeter to cross the finish line!

    1. I have my first half at the end of November, will be interesting. Thanks for sharing.

      1. It’s the best feeling in the world! 🙂 Can’t wait to read all about it 🙂

  2. The hardest thing I’ve ever done was a 200km bike ride, unassisted, completely alone. I managed, minus a few stops, a little more than an 18 mph average. Overall the whole thing took a little over seven hours and I was entirely wasted afterwards. 62.5 miles from the car, you really learn what you’re made of.

    Have a great couple of races my friend. Go for a spin after you run the first one hard and you might be able to do them both like that. 😉

    1. Thank you for sharing that, sounds like it was an amazing challenge. I will have to try that and see how it goes.

  3. Doing your first, here is a suggestion for doing your first half. Leave the watch at home, forget about the time and just enjoy the day. Take your time, high five all the kids along the route. Spend time encouraging others along, thank as many of the volunteers as you can. At the finish line, bask in the glory of the day that was. This way there is no presure and when you do your second half, you will have beaten your first half time!!

    1. I will try, I have a hard time not looking at my watch when I run. Thanks

  4. […] Something New (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  5. My most “challenging” marathon was the ING Hartford Marathon in 2012. A friend of a friend whom I had seen a few times was supposed to pick up my number the night before the race. We never hooked up before the race so I had to get a bib w/ out a chip from a race official and start the race un-timed.
    In the last 5 minutes before the race my mind was racing. Where the F is this guy? Am I really not going to run this race after months of training? I’m going to kill somebody. Then I collected my thoughts and looked for a race official to help me out. All she could do was give me a bib w/ out a chip.
    More than 1/2 way through the race I caught up to my buddy who had my bib in his pocket and I did get an official time.
    Talk about a challenge.

    1. Wow, I would have killed your friend. Good thing you got a time in the end. Did you still manage to enjoy the run with the issues and hang ups? Thanks for sharing.

      1. So, during the first part of the race I’m checking out every middle-aged white guy I see. I wan’t sure I even remembered what this guy looked like. He must have walked past me as I was standing at the bag drop.
        I was the last person to cross the starting line and had to ask spectators for directions at the first few turns. As pissed as I was it was almost hilarious at times. Many WTF moments.
        Starting from the back, I got to pass a lot of people. I think I finished almost exactly in the middle of the pack.
        It was still an enjoyable race in that special way that a marathon is enjoyable. And what a story? Not one I’ll soon forget.
        I did a lengthy blog post on it. With a year to reflect on the experience I could probably write a better post now.

Leave a Reply

