Where To Now?

My biggest goal for the season and the focus of the second half of the season.

My biggest goal for the season and the focus of the second half of the season.

The first triathlon of the second half of the season is now complete and I feel like I have gained allot of confidence over my past three triathlons.   Originally last Sunday’s triathlon had been nixed from the schedule due to financial reasons so I decided to spend the time training and planned accordingly.  This plan involved a few heavy weeks followed by a lighter recovery week.  But the triathlon changed that dynamic, as I took three days off before. the race.  To keep with my plan I have made some adjustments and feel the schedule is well planned to get me to my first Olympic distance triathlon in October.

Because this was not an ‘A’ race I decided this week I would continue to push my training carefully and then as planned would take a recovery week next week.  This leads into my planned last six weeks of the triathlon season, which gives three more standard training weeks, a recovery week and then a slow gradual two week taper period.  The hard thing is going to be not burning myself out in the final push.  The goal is to prepare and accelerate to my max potential but not injure or hamper my ability on race day.

Remaining Schedule

  • Week of Monday 26th: Planned recovery, reduce all workouts to about five hours for the week and get ready for the final training push.
  • Week of September 2nd: Saturday I have a 5k race planned, otherwise this is a solid week of training, aiming for around 11-12 hours for the week.
  • Week of September 9th – Saturday have my first 15k race planned.  otherwise this is a solid week of training, aiming for around 11-12 hours for the week.  Might reduce this as the 15k distance will require some recovery.
  • Week of September 16th – Saturday bike event – Beautiful back roads century.  Well 48 miles of riding.
  • Week of September 23rd – Sunday I have my last sprint triathlon planned and this week will involve cutting back and recovering a bit, dropping the hours to about half or a bit more, but not the full 12 or so planned for other phases.
  • Week of September 30th – 5k Race at the end of the week.  First taper week and the plan is to really focus on technique exercise and less on distance for this week.  The goal of this week is to cut the training hours down to about five or so hours.
  • Week of October 7th – Its go time… race week.  This weeks goal is to get a Monday 3 mile run, Tuesday 11 mile bike and Wednesday get in a 1500 meter ladder.   Thursday and Friday will be treated as off days and training should take no more than three hours for this week.   On Saturday the goal is to attempt to get a practice swim in the ocean and to enjoy the expo and pre-race dinner.

That is the basic plan for the next several weeks leading up to the big race.  My workouts are focused in two directions now, technique and distance.  Quick short workouts are being used to shore up and work on technique issues with less focus being placed on volume and greater focus being placed on form.  But I have to continue to work on my endurance and building my base for this longer triathlon.  Below is how I am breaking up the remaining focus:

Run

runphoto

Official run photo from last triathlon. Oh how far I have come.

The goal here is to continue on my current three day a week plan.  Usually the first day is aimed at a medium 3-4 mile run that is all about form and pacing practice. On these runs I am changing from a 1:1 run/walk ratio to a 1:30:1 ratio and working on building up my endurance and pacing.  Once a week I am focusing on doing either 200 or 400 meter repeats depending on how things feel with the goal to continue to push this overall time down each week.  The hardest day of the week is the continuation of my long endurance runs.  Each week I am adding a quarter to half a mile depending on how things feel.  The goal of these runs is not time and often I slow way down, the focus is on distance.  Right now I am running 7.5 to 8 miles on my long days.Currently I run a 40 minute 5k and an 1:30:00 10k.  I would like to continue to push improvement up to race day.

Bike

Currently I am about a 12-13 mph rider with allot of climbs.  I am aware though my endurance overall diminishes after 20 miles currently.  I am sure this will get me to the end of the bike section but I would love to improve a bit more.  I am focusing allot on technique and intervals working to get the engine solid as can be on race day.  In my lunch hour I am now getting into the gym for short 30 minute spin up, single leg and pyramid drills as well as a few others all aiming at improving different aspects of my riding on a technical level.  Each week I am going to aim for two rides, one about 24 miles and the other about 38 or so miles based on time allotted.

Swim

I really need to gt back to focusing on my technique and a little bit on speed work.  I like my weekly 2 mile ladder set and weekend open water swim, but I think once or twice during lunch, I will work to squeeze in a speed work session or a golf drill session.  I think adding that in will balance out my swim workouts. The open water swims will have to be completed on Sundays as my September Saturdays are booked, just will have to make sure I put in the time and get the work done in the lake.

Coming out of the water, I already have my cap and goggles off and I am ready for the bike.

Coming out of the water, I already have my cap and goggles off and I am ready for the bike.

Strength

I would rather spend the bulk of my time working on the technical aspects of the other sports, but this still cannot be neglected.  I plan to continue to roll my strength training sessions into my aqua boot camp.  Additionally I might try to get some box jumps done once a week and I will work to get two Pilates sessions in to keep the core solid and strong.

That is the run down of my last month and some heading towards my big ‘A’ race of the season.  My last triathlon in September is more of a shake down to see where I stand before going to the final longer distance triathlon.  I think September will be a challenging yet rewarding month and of course October will be a huge deal.  I am still trying to figure out how to prepare for swimming in the ocean with active waves, but that is just a nervous concern.  Its been a fun season so far and with a month left to conclusion it should be a wild ride.  Til next time.

 

17 comments

  1. You really look like you’re running in that pic and look at those quads!! GREAT job! Keep it up!

    1. My quads were a bit big before, now they are beefy and defined. Thanks my friend. My running has improved slowly but my firm has improved vastly.

      1. I was noticing the defined part 🙂

        1. Thank you. It is nice to see some notacable improvement when things are going so slow off the waist. Of course my tri suit did fit a little less snug this last race.

  2. Certainly looks like a very solid and doable plan leading up to the race. you have come so far. Well done!

    Dan

    1. Thank you. Yeah the plan looks doable, just feels good to get it out there where I can see it and mull it over.

  3. Awesome game plan! Keep up the great work!

    1. Thank you. Trying to get the goals and path ahead laid out so mentally I am ready for the tough September looming ahead.

  4. You are making great progress! Swim drills help so much! Do you have a tempo trainer? It really helps even your stroke out. Mine has been a great tool.

    1. Just went and got one and tried my first workout with it today, why did I not get one of these sooner? Thanks for the encouragement and suggestion.

      1. Let me know how it goes!!

  5. […] Where To Now? (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Thats so great. I need to get back in the gym again. I cannot wait to start training for triathlons again. Good luck as you continue to train. STAY HEALTHY!

  7. […] Where To Now? (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] Where To Now? (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] Where To Now? (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  10. […] Where To Now? (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

