Chasing The Sun

Besides being wet, a great ride with some awesome views.

Chasing daylight.

This week has been a good week for me so far.  First I started my new job and everything is going amazingly well.  Then I got my training off to good start with a pre-sunrise run and finished the day chasing the sun with  a brief 12 miles of cycling.  After so many hard weeks of job uncertainty that lead to cancelling my triathlon for August, it feels good for things to be getting back on track and back into rhythm again.

Run Details (click for interactive version)

Run Details (click for interactive version)

I started out the day with a medium distance three mile jog at four in the morning.  After running seven miles on Sunday,  the 5k distance feels relatively small in comparison, but it was still a good bit of exercise as there are always things to work on.  The fun thing about running at this hour is that its cooler as there is no sun yet, just pitch black inky sky. Where I live there are no street lights and the road is surrounded by fields, swamps and woods, so it makes for a freeing yet eerie experience.  Of course I exercise common sense and use a headlamp and wear reflective clothing to ensure my safety.

As I was nearing the completion of my first mile, on my left lied a huge field that used to be planted with crops, but now it was frequently mowed and cleared.  As I turned my head and headlamp in the direction of the field I was startled to see a pair of eyes glowing back at me.  I  quickly realized it was just a deer crouching down and staying low to the ground.  As I scanned the field with my headlamp I noticed numerous additional sets of eyes staring back at me.  I shared a really cool moment with the deer and then I moved on and continued to finish the remainder of my run.

Ride details.  Click for interactive version.

Ride details. Click for interactive version.

Later in the evening, about half an hour before the sun went below the horizon I managed to get out for a quick hour ride.  My legs were a bit sore from my long run on Sunday and my earlier morning run, but it felt good to get the legs going at a good cadence.  Technically it was not the best or fastest time on this route, but I just enjoyed getting out before the sun and any associated light faded to night.  As I hit the ten mile mark of this eleven and a half mile route the darkness began to fade.

By the time I finished the last two miles darkness had set and I was back to the same place I was earlier in the morning when I started my day, in  pitch blackness.  I reveled in the realization that I had worked out both before the sun came up and as the sun went down.   I started the day chasing the darkness and I finished my day chasing sunlight.  Til next time.

8 comments

  1. What an awesome day! 🙂 Keep up the good work, and congratulations on the new job!

    1. Thank you Sandra.

  2. What a great read man. Keep it up!

  3. I so enjoy “running” with the deer. You are wise to wear both a headlamp and reflector vest. The lamp helps you see, the vest helps other see you!

  4. Your determination is an inspiration! If you’re keen on reflective clothing, there’s an online clothing boutique that offer a unique combination of reflective with fashion. If you’re so inclined, check out the site: visiblecouture dot com. You may like what they have. Keep up the good work!

  5. Most impressed by your plunge into tri-athleticism, and same to those in your community here. It is my goal to ignite many, many more people who feel dislocated from a training life to do what you have done, in whatever sport, physical art, or work they may wish to train to excel in. Inspiring posts!

    1. Thank you. If you read a bit back it has not been easy but a drastic change over the past year and then some. The hardest part is accepting that a person will only make changes when they are ready to change and not when you want them to change is the hardest part.

Leave a Reply

