July Is In The Books

July's numbers.

July’s numbers.

The  beginning of July marked the end of the first half of my race season, so I decided July would serve as a recovery month with no triathlons.  Of course it does not mean I took the month off entirely from racing, as I ended up doing a few races and even completed my first 10k race.  Since July was an off month I focused on getting solid workouts in.  Volume was not as high as in earlier months, but the focus was on completing high intensity to medium intensity workouts to start the preparations for my end goal… my first international or Olympic distance triathlon in October.

July's run stats.

July’s run stats.

One factor that did prove difficult was external to my overall training goals, I had to start searching for a new job as the company I was working for decided to not bring me on full time.  Not to worry, in two weeks I start a new job.  Instead of a heavy training focus plus work I have been having to train, search for work and work a full time job all at the same time.  Of course this might impact my goal of completing another sprint triathlon in August as paycheck deadlines are uncertain.  This would leave September’s sprint triathlon as the last one before my international distance in October.

July Bike stats.

July Bike stats.

July Highlights: Unemployed No More Style

  • Finished my first 10k race – While it took a almost an hour and a half to finish, I still finished my first race at the 10k distance.(here)
  • I have refocused my efforts on my running program.   I have worked to increase the quantity and volume of these workouts and I am working to reduce my overall 5k and 10k  running times.
  • Finished my second 5k in the Kennesaw Grand Prix race series out of six total races.
  • Cycling numbers went a bit down, but the last week’s numbers were more in line with what I was expecting.  Need to increase this in the next work out phase.
  • Had a DNF in my first swim event trying to open water swim a mile.  Not sure what happened but I reinforced I could swim a mile through additional open water swims and long ladder sets in the pool(here and here ).
  • Replaced traditional workouts with water boot camp/aerobics focusing on the entire body.
  • Completed a few Pilates classes but lost focus on this, need to continue to work to improve my core and my balance.
  • Almost became part of a police chase on my nightly bike ride (here)
  • This blog turned a year old!!!

July proved a good training month.  My running program has excelled while my bike and cycling initially stalled but finished off strong.  Swimming has been mixed this month, but while I received my first DNF in an event, I rebounded with some strong pool and open water swims.  Looking forward, I might have to treat August as another training month as pay uncertainty might make it difficult to compete in my scheduled triathlon.  My brother who is also doing the triathlon has offered to loan me the money, but I do not know if I need to race that bad that I need to take a loan to race.  Still feeling this one out, but it would be our last race together for the season.  Thoughts?  Til next time.

8 comments

  1. Great job! Way to be so wonderfully diligent on your training!

  2. I’ve been taking Pilates too and it really helps me! You sound so organized with your training – I need to get focused during August!

  3. kruzmeister · · Reply

    Good to see the consistency in your training paying off Chatter. You will be so ready for your Oly by the time it rolls around! Keep up the good work!!

  4. Awesome month mate, Awesome!!!

  5. I think you’re doing great! I would probably use August as a training month – but I’m sure there is a lot for you to consider. I know you’ll make the best decision for you. All the best!

  6. […] July Is In The Books (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] July Is In The Books (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] July Is In The Books (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

