Review of The First Half Of My First Triathlon Season

In the beginning of 2012 I weighed 320 pounds and while I did not rely smoke I still relied on an e-cigarette. Back then I wore a 52 inch pant as seen in the current picture.

In the beginning of 2012 I weighed 320 pounds and while I did not rely smoke I still relied on an e-cigarette. Back then I wore a 52 inch pant as seen in the current picture.

Last year when I started this triathlon madness I could not imagine being at this point in my first season.  I guess part of that can be contributed to the fact I committed myself to a season and not just an event or two, I am certain this has made a huge difference.  When I put together my triathlon/running/cycling and whatever else event schedule I carefully tried to keep it busy enough to provide some impetus to continue with focused training, but not so hard that I would burn out quickly.  I had a few goals I wanted to achieve and so I put my plan together with those goals taking the focus of my attention.  I figured I would spend a few words and numbers to reflect on the first half of this season before looking ahead to the second half.

The theme for the first half of this season was simply to finish my first triathlon and acclimate into my second.  Since last April/May my focus has been on getting in good enough shape that this goal would be a reality.  I will admit it was extremely difficult at the time as I spent the majority of my life, including high school, as a couch potato.  It took a few months to get into a low level of fitness that would allow me to actually perform some major triathlon training.  As the year rolled around and April approach I suddenly was no longer concerned about finishing, I just knew that I would finish. (Read about it here) The second triathlon, the one I just completed last week provided the perfect second triathlon race and capped off the first half of the season on a positive note (read here).  While the primary theme involved finishing the first triathlon, I surely packed allot into this small three month window of time.

First 3 Months Highlights:

  • Finished my first and second triathlons – The first was a bit clunky, by the time I finished the second one the nuance of triathlon felt more natural and understood.  This lead me to feel like I had a better second race with more control and better execution.
  • Completed one pool and one open water swim start triathlons.
  • 37 Mile ride in super rough weather for The Tour De Cure charity event (here)
  • I ran 2 5k races in the Kennesaw Grand Prix series!
  • Finally dropped from 300 into the lower 290’s and upper 280’s (take the achievement where you can)
  • Have completed 236 hours of training in some form or another since last October
  • Ran a total of 179 miles
  • Biked a total of 411.45 miles
  • Swam 90,172 meters since last October to get to the first half of this season’s finish
  • Switched jobs (back on the market again as my contract did not pick me up for perm, fun again)
  • Moved houses where I can run and bike more.
  • 266 Blog posts and 195 followers and I am part of an active community of like minded bloggers with amazing stories and inspiration.
Weight

Last three month weight measures. June was not great as I leveled out at 290.

Summary

Last three month summary.

That sounds like one heck of a busy three months (OK the numbers I added were cumulative from last October when I started, but they have to be accounted somewhere and they lead up to that first triathlon).  Hard to believe a still fairly portly individual, ex couch potato can achieve so much just by changing life style habits and learning to believe in himself in all ways including athletics.  In my next post I will outline my path forward, for now I am going to revel in the success of finishing the first half of this season and feeling so great about the achievement itself.  Oh and thank you for reading this blog, while I started it for external accountability I have found the support and guidance I have received from others invaluable.  Til next time.

9 comments

  1. Continued success with triathlon training and best of luck with the job search! Confidence+discipline+fun=success in life! (that’s my opinion at least)

  2. kruzmeister · · Reply

    Congrats on all of your amazing achievements so far Chatter, there are bigger and better things in store for you and I look foward to following you on that journey! 🙂

  3. You’ve done amazing! You should be really proud! Congratulations my friend. Can’t wait to keep reading as your second half unfolds!

  4. […] I reviewed my mid-season achievements and numbers(here), so today I will look forward and outline what I have planned for the next couple of months and […]

  5. […] Review of The First Half Of My First Triathlon Season (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Review of The First Half Of My First Triathlon Season (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] Review of The First Half Of My First Triathlon Season (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] Review of The First Half Of My First Triathlon Season (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] Review of The First Half Of My First Triathlon Season (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

