Amazing The Difference a Year Makes

The bottom of my long country drive way.

The bottom of my long country drive way.

This week has been a difficult week training wise as my primary focus has been to remove myself from one residence and into another.  As of this week I will officially be living in the rural north Georgia outskirts.  This move has many pluses and minus, the biggest of which entails living in a place that is great for cycling and running.  I am officially leaving my suburban dwelling and moving to acres of cow and farm land, where the nearest grocery store entails a thirty minute or longer round trip.  While its out in the middle of nowhere I love the shaded woods and quiet comfort that oozes from living in this place.  Of course moving has truly made training this week difficult, somehow I still managed to get in some decent training.

One of the coolest parts of the experience has been visiting memory lane.  Just over two years ago I weighed 365 pounds at my worst and had no intention of changing any part of my lifestyle.  A year ago I had gotten down to 320-310 while doing off and on weight training workouts, but never anything permanent.

The day that changed my life involved a doctors visit to check my diabetes.  My blood pressure was through the roof and I was informed I would not live much longer on the path I was heading.  Everything in my life changed and if you have read this blog for a bit you will know I went from barely believing I could run a 5k to deciding to get in good enough shape to participate in a triathlon and later a season of triathlons.

The greatest thing about moving though for me is finding some of my old clothing, some of which have been tied to specific pictures and memories I have posted here.  Following is a quick montage of then and new shots as I rummage through old clothes and memories.

The picture that really made me want to change.  February 2012 Hunting Island.

The picture that really made me want to change. February 2012 Hunting Island.

In the beginning of 2012 I weighed 320 pounds and while I did not rely smoke I still relied on an e-cigarette. Back then I wore a 52 inch pant as seen in the current picture.

In the beginning of 2012 I weighed 320 pounds and while I no longer smoked I still relied on an e-cigarette. Back then I wore a 52 inch pant as seen in the current picture.

I completed my first 5k.

I completed my first 5k in October

Same orange shirt  put on this weekend found in my drawers when moving.

Same orange shirt put on this weekend found in my drawers when moving.

Now and Then.  The left picture was from my last 5k race and the one on the right is from my first 5k race in October.

Now and Then. The left picture was from my last 5k race and the one on the right is from my first 5k race.

At the beginning of this year I got myself down to 300 pounds and halted.  For the last two months I have worked on my nutrition and once again I am loosing weight again.  In the past two months I have gone from 302 to roughly 290(on average its closer to 289 but its in progress).  I am eager to get moved in and unpacked and to get back to a normal balance of things as I have work to do.  Til next time.

13 comments

  1. Awesome job! My life-changing moment was similar – not with diabetes, but with high blood pressure. I hate taking pills and asked my doctor what I needed to do to get off of the blood pressure medication. He said losing weight would help. I’m sure I had heard that numerous times before (and I already knew by doing some research that losing weight would help), but I suppose I wasn’t ready to truly hear it and take action prior to this particular doctor visit. It doesn’t hurt that my doctor also has a wonderful and caring way to talking to you without making you feel horrible about yourself. Timing is everything! Moving is stressful, but just a hiccup in the training process. No doubt your confidence and determination will help you reach your weight and tri-training goals!

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words. Moving has been a challenge especially with a triathlon only three or four weeks away. This was supposed to happen in July when I start the second half of my season and take July off, but things pushed the date up.

  2. Once again, kudos for you! I bet something as challenging as what you are going through sure is not easy. Keep up the good work!

    1. Thank You.

  3. I’ve really enjoyed following your journey over the past year and you’ve made great progress.

    Love the pictures and it had to be a great feeling to not only slip back into the old duds but to take the new pictures and compare them to the old. Way to go and just think of where you can be in another year or two if you keep at it!

    1. Knowing where I can be in another year or two is what keeps me pushing forward. I read blogs such as yours and some others and I see these amazing stories of progress and I get so inspired. I often have to realize that I was so out of shape that I am only now getting to the point to being anywhere close to where some of yall were last year. Thanks my friend.

  4. kruzmeister · · Reply

    I love seeing how happy you are in your current pictures Chatter. You have worked damned hard and should be very proud of yourself my friend. You are an inspiration to all! Enjoy the country bliss! – Simone

    1. Oh I love it. The roads are so infrequently traveled that they are perfect for running and cycling. The air is so clean and fresh. So far I am enjoying it, now though its just a matter of juggling a training schedule and unpacking. So much fun. Glad I can inspire, it was a blast trying on the old clothes. I was clueless how big of a difference the pants were! Thanks.

  5. Such an inspiration! Nice job man and keep it up!

    1. Thanks my friend, looks like you have had some forward progress and you have stayed busy based on your Strava entries.

  6. looking good buddy, the changes you have taken really makes you look so happy. looking at the picture of you in the current 5k exudes your happiness as well as your energy. Thumbs up bro !

  7. […] Found a pair of pants I wore when I started this last may and they were huge (here) […]

  8. What a transformation! Keep it up. You will be amazed at what you are able to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

