One Heck of a Busy Week In Reflection

I was so happy to see the finish line and I was in so much pain as my stomach felt empty.

I was so happy to see the finish line and I was in so much pain as my stomach felt empty.  I am looking better and a little more muscled every day!

Last week proved to be incredibly hectic and crazy time wise, I am uncertain where to start.  In a nutshell, the condensed version:  I rode my highest number of miles, 63, doubling my previous week high, I ran in my first 5k for the year getting a PR and on Friday I dropped to the edge of 290.  I think the large volume of riding I did really took up the bulk of the weeks time,as I dropped allot of my usual other training.

Usually I train hard for three weeks then recover by only doing half the workouts I usually perform.  This phase was a little different as I had a major event, the Tour De Cure Atlanta at the end of week 5 and a 5k road race at the end of week 4.  I decided I would aim for a two step taper and I would reduce week four’s training numbers a little and week five further, allowing me to have some extended training and getting a good recovery before the Tour De Cure Atlanta event.  Oddly this week my training instead went into hyper drive and I pushed out even more training time, spending a couple of hours on Tuesday  a couple hours on Thursday and a couple hours on Sunday on the bike.  In the end I accumulated over 63 miles on the bike, better than my 34 a few weeks ago.

swift-cantrell-logo-minimalBesides heavy cycling this week, I participated in a 5k race on Saturday, the Swift Cantrell Classic in Kennesaw.  The cool thing about this race is that it is the first in a series of six races that all are ran on the same course throughout the remainder of the year.  So if you do all of them you can see if you are progressing.  I took my mother to the race and afterwards they had a pancake social.  She loved it and it was extremely fun for everyone.

Click to go to details.

Click to go to details.

swiftcantrellsplitsThe race did not go perfectly for me.  As soon as the gun went off I knew my legs were closer to 30% , they felt heavy and the muscles were extremely fatigued.  I found myself having to stop and walk occasionally before I could get them ambulating again.  The finish line stretched across a flataway at the end of  a slight hill, so you pick up a ton of speed heading towards the finish.  As I saw the finish line I pushed hard and right away I could tell I had no gas in the tank, but I pushed anyways and I pushed hard.  As I crossed the finish line all I wanted to do was throw up.  I had never hit this point before in any races.  I guess I will have to rework the nutrition a bit.  In the end the clock showed 40:01, and my watch showed a few minutes after (I was more worried about throwing up than turning off my watch) but the official time reads 41:01.  Not sure why the discrepancy, but the only thing I can figure is that it was a gun timed event and the only reason we had chips on the shoes was so they could post the times immediately.   Regardless it beat my previous race time of 44:35 and gives me a base for the next five races.

Week Highlights:

  • 63+ miles on my bike over 3 days.
  • PR in my 5k run on very dead legs
  • 2 strength session
  • At least one  swim session
  • Dropped weight down to 290 (Details Here)!!!!

MainNumbersRunNumbersBikeNumbersA very solid week with very sound training numbers.  At this point I know this week leading to the Tour De Cure will have to be lighter to get my legs a little bit fresher for the event.   My Sunday ride proved challenging as my legs felt like lead and my mind refused to push them too far.  So its time for a breather and a real reduction to let myself heal up a bit before the cycling event and before I resume my training for my next triathlon at the end of June.  Last week was a great week with some major milestones.  But for now, I need some rest. Til next time.

14 comments

  1. Awesome news brother. Congratulations on all of it!

  2. No shame in a PR! Keep it up!

  3. Great job! Especially feeling tired~

  4. kruzmeister · · Reply

    Nice work Chatter. You’ve gotta be happy with that effort!

  5. Awesome job! Did your HR really hit 240?? Holy moses! You really pushed yourself. PRs are awesome accomplishments–we are really close on our PRs, by the way!
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    1. I do not think it got that high, me and my heartrate monitor are having a bit of a spat right now. I might have to replace it, but it seems to work most of the time so I can’t complain.Glad to see you are still hanging in there, looks like you had a couple of hard days. Stick with it.

      1. Thanks. I did. I am? Hopefully things will turn soon (that means I need to do it).

      2. My HR monitor started doing the same thing and after replacing the battery with no luck I had to replace the entire HR monitor strap. Luckly that fixed it and I didn’t have to go for a completely new watch as well.

  6. Congrats on the PR and great progress. Your pace is definitely improving from your 5k last year. I think it would be a lot of fun to run the same course a couple of times throughout the year.

  7. Good job with the 5k – way to push through! 🙂

    1. It was a bit scary, I have never had that reaction before.

  8. […] One Heck of a Busy Week In Reflection (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] One Heck of a Busy Week In Reflection (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  10. […] One Heck of a Busy Week In Reflection (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

