The ‘And Then Some’ Distance Principle

In a few weeks I will be riding in my first 100 mile cycling event (Atlanta Tour De Cure, Donate Now Please).  I have never ridden more than thirty miles currently as I just bought my bike last year, right before it got cold and it has only recently warmed up.  Every chance I have gotten I have attempted to get more time on the saddle and a greater push for miles.  Unfortunately my wife has started recently reminding me the farthest I have ridden to date.  She has good intentions, trying to keep me grounded.  Often I just grin and tell her, I will go as far as I can go… and then some.  She hates this answer, but it truly explains the endurance mindset I have built up.  Let me explain.

If I was to say I am going to attempt so many miles, then I have immediately given myself an out, a doorway to quit when things get hard. ‘I was trying’ or ‘I Tried’ I could say.  But by saying this I established my rules off the bat that I might not succeed and I am just going to try.

I prefer to stack the odds a bit more mentally.  I prefer to say and think ‘I am going to do what I can do and then some’.  B y this I am actually saying I am going to push myself as hard and as far as I can push myself and then when I feel I have nothing left, everything is gone and I am done, I am going to go a bit further to make sure I really am done.  I feel this mantra gives me better chance at success and leaves me feeling like I did everything in my power to succeed and does not give me an easy out when things get hard.  As an endurance athlete this mantra is everything.  I am going to train hard until there is nothing left, then I will go a little bit further to make sure I have gone as far as I can go.

So if you ask me if I can finish another triathlon that will be harder or longer, or if I can ride a century, or whatever, I will simple tell you ‘I Will go as far and as fast as I can and then some”.  Til next time.

 

3 comments

  1. […] The ‘And Then Some’ Distance Principle (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] The ‘And Then Some’ Distance Principle (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] The ‘And Then Some’ Distance Principle (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

