How Did I Get Here: My Training Numbers So Far

This weekend I achieved my first major milestone in goals I had set for myself.  It is hard to believe that just a little over a year ago my only concept of exercise involved finding a remote control or getting up to get some chips.  Now I am a triathlete! I am now in the best shape of my life, albeit a bit round still.  But I can swim, bike and run with confidence for at least two hours.

The start of this adventure I realized I could not do anything but breathe heavy and get ready to call an ambulance if I did anything physical.  So I started slowly, I trained to get to my training plan.  I figured by October I would be able to start a proper training schedule.  Armed with Friel‘s Triathlete Bible and the internet I digested everything I could learn about training.  From this research developed my current periodization and race schedule. In October I started this training plan and occasionally made some mistakes.  This weekend I finished the first major milestone of this plan and started my march toward completing a season of triathlon races.  It has been a long road with some serious ups and downs.

2013 Triathlon Training By the Numbers (October to Today)

summaryTotalsCaptureI did not include any of my taper time or mileage as it was so minor it was difficult to keep up with.  I included the last triathlon in this summation and all the associated mileage.  I think now that summer and spring are here I should have higher bike mileage.  I also need to work more on my running.  Overall I am pleased with the effort and intensity I have put into this training program.  I believe now that I have a bit more experience in actual triathlons I should be able to better utilize the training and time I have to spend training.  For my first season of serious training, I think the numbers are pretty good.  I am still adding to these numbers and won’t finish till my last race in October.  It is cool seeing the effort put into making this dream possible. Til next time.

10 comments

  1. Such a great post to share. You are proof that change can happen, it sure isn’t easy and the process does not advance in a linear manner. But with time and dedication, you did it! Here’s to many more races to read about in your journey.

    1. Here is to many more races. I still have a ways to go with the weight loss, but it is a progressive goal. I try to eat good sized portions and make smart choices that go along with the training. Its all in the hard work to this point, with determination my triathlon clothes from this year will not fit next year! I also try to be transparent on this blog as I have learned so much from so many blogs like both of your blogs.

  2. One step at a time. The strides you are making will continue to be life changing. We biked yesterday and I kept up better than ever. It feels good to get healthy. Stay strong.

  3. kruzmeister · · Reply

    You have made big strides to a healthier future mate, it is only going to get better from here, congrats on having the courage and conviction to change your life for the better! You have no idea how much you inspire me! – Simone

  4. Hey Aaron, how’ve you been? .. oh Round is a shape,, and I still think its the best shape.. as long you are a SOLID Round and not like me a pudgy and soft round.

  5. […] How Did I Get Here: My Training Numbers So Far (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  6. You’re doing a great job. I’m really happy for you!

  7. […] How Did I Get Here: My Training Numbers So Far (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] How Did I Get Here: My Training Numbers So Far (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

