Early Bird Triathlon Official Numbers Are In

64529_451652888239475_247740923_n

Yesterday I posted a quick race recap and a rough finish time.  Setup events later released the official numbers and I am happy to say they were not bad in all aspects as I had thought.  The best one coming from the fact that I really did not finish last time wise.  The start was a time trial pool start so while I finished last on race day, my time was better than one other person.

 

 

 

 

Here is the breakdown of my times:

Swim:  00:11:40

T1: 0:04:22 (ouch!!!)

Bike: 00:59:21

T2:  00:02:27

Run: 00:45:52

Total: 02:03:30

I based my earlier total on the final unofficial  time, but they had not adjusted for the timed starts.  Yes t1 is terrible, and the bike and swim could have been shorter.  It took a while to recover from the stomach pains at the start of the race and they affected every other aspect of the race.

The great news is that with two months til the next triathlon, most of what I have to fix are technical issues: nutrition pre-race, transitions and tweak my running and cycling.  The last two will be better if I have a better swim than I had in the race, which I should as the next one will not be as new, hopefully.  Time to get back to work and start preparing for my long bike ride next month and triathlon the following. Til next time.

8 comments

  1. […] Early Bird Triathlon Official Numbers Are In (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Congratulations on doing – and FINISHING – your first tri. The experience you had doing this one will no doubt help you improve on your next one. And the one after that. And the one after that…

  3. OneLovelyRun · · Reply

    Awesome! Congrats to you! will you do a race recap I hope?

  4. kruzmeister · · Reply

    Congrats again Chatter, the next two months will go quickly! – Simone

  5. […] to sit on my behind and admire the accomplishment I achieved this weekend (read about it here and here), I know I am nothing without goals and there is more work to be done.  I got to this point by […]

  6. I think getting that message during T1 affected your time. The first one is for fun and learning. Actually everyone is for fun and learning now that I think about it.

    1. I thought it might have been the pedicure I stopped for or maybe the latte I ordered!!!

Leave a Reply

