Yikes Its Tuesday Already!!! Two Weeks and Counting Weekly Goals

HistoryOfAwesomeLess than two weeks to go til I get to plunge into my first triathlon!  Its crazy to think that last February I would never have imagined being on the verge of a triathlon, let alone the start of a season of triathlons.  A year ago I would have thought myself daft at even pondering a triathlon race of any distance.  Finally all of the work and sticking to a plan will shore up into one day.  On that day all the other races I have planned will not matter.  What will matter on that day is that I go out and leave it all on the course, but that I still manage my race as best as possible.  If I finish the race with anything left in the tank I will be dissapointed in myself, as I know how far I can truly push myself.  I expect allot from myself come race day, but its nothing new or unexpected. At this point of my training I know how far I can go, how fast I can go and I know that when its time to push past the sane point of whimpering fatigue, I will be ready.  The goal  on my upcoming race day is to finish.  But I never just wanted to finish, I wanted to finish with all my might, moxy and gusto.  I wanted to finish and feel great and confident that I did everything I could to get myself to that point.  I wanted to tear that race up and finish with everything I have.  Soon I will get to push myself and finally finish this goal I set for myself all those months ago, almost a year now.

From day one I have had a plan and I have lived by that plan to the letter when possible.  While still sporting a soft round middle, I am slimmer at the waist and chest and my legs have turned into solid muscular tree trunks.  I have more to go in the weight loss department but I am the fittest I have ever been.  Last week was the second of my brick weeks and the goal was to ramp it up from the first week.  I managed to do one trifecta  brick workout (spin/run/swim) and two bike/swim workouts.  The run workout involved mimicking the triathlon except my transition area was a spare locker.  Overall I feel like each brick brings a new level of conditioning. After I finished my first week of bricks, including a trifecta brick, my legs felt super sore.  They felt almost as bad as when I first started.  Now my body has adjusted to them and each one I do I feel stronger and more resilient.  I am adapting to the stresses of a multi-hour three sport race!

3 Weeks and Counting By the Numbers:

week3update

The above chart includes my last two weeks of brick workouts.  The equation of heavy brick days followed by a day of rest with lots of recovery so far has proven to work really well so far.  Right now my 5k time is close to 45 minutes and my 400 meter time (after run) is hovering neer 9 minutes.

961041799_260Currently I have been using a pair of shoes until they wear out and then buying a second.  While I was at the running store getting a number belt (found one that fits!)  I found a pair of Saucony ProGrid Guide 5 2012 model shoes on sale for half off.  Interestingly they have a 8mm heel to to drop compared to my current shoes which measure at 12mm.  They fit well in the store and at half off I decided to plop down the money and buy a pair.  Originally I found a white/gold/red pair in my size, but upon closer inspection I found a pair in my favorite color,orange!  Have not tried them out yet, eager to see if the drop really makes any difference.  Ironically they weigh the same as my Brooks.   So I am now a two shoe athlete.  If these feel good enough I might go buy that one other pair in my size to wear when these wear down.

This will be the last week of my bricks before the race in two weeks so my goals this week are pretty simple:

  • 1 spin/run/swim brick

  • 1 swim/spin brick (in that order)

  • 1 bike (outdoors)/run brick

  • Transition practice as often as possible.

  • Keep focusing on not injuring myself

That is it. Pretty simple set of goals, get the last good workouts in and go intense.  The key goal is to avoid injury at all costs.  On Saturday I am going to Sosbee Park where I can use the bike bar to practice my transitions.  I know my focus needs to be on performance, but I would feel better having an understanding and feeling for the transitions.  Next week will be light, so this week I need to go big and intense!!!!  Til next time.

12 comments

  1. Go get ’em Chatter.

  2. Almost there! I’m rooting for you. 😀

    1. So close I can feel it. This week is going to be tough, next week is going to be unbearable.

  3. Good on you – keep up the amazing work and you will own that race!!

  4. Woohoo!

    Try to run for at least a week in the new one’s before you plunk down the money for another pair.

    1. That is the goal! Of course they won’t be flashy orange

  5. kruzmeister · · Reply

    Go Chatter!! You’ll hear me cheering all the way from Oz mate! – Simone 🙂

  6. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  7. Love the new shoes! I typically like that brand but my last ones didn’t old up..maybe just the style? i want to try them again though because they feel good! Two weeks till race time…where has the time gone? You’ve done so great. Stay strong my friend!

    1. I am down to the “Is it here yet” stage where I cannot wait for race day to get here. The shoes feel good so far.

  8. […] Yikes Its Tuesday Already!!! Two Weeks and Counting Weekly Goals (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] Yikes Its Tuesday Already!!! Two Weeks and Counting Weekly Goals (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

