Friday Morning Run: Just a Little Bit Off

Click for more details. Guess all that maters is that I got it done.

Click for more details. Guess all that maters is that I got it done.

This morning I got back outside and hit the road.  I did not have any particular goal in mind, just to get some miles in and to continue working on figuring out a possible jogging route.  Since I moved to my morning gym I had to rethink my running as I could not run where I usually do near my house because I needed to squeeze it in during a morning gym session.  Since I changed my routine and my location I have had difficulty getting back up to speed.  I am not sure if it is the change in venue, my recently injured ankle and/or the cold temperatures.

runmapPrevious to my new employment and the changes that occurred concurrently I frequently ran the same path and was familiar with its distance and the overall feel of the course.  The new route I am often uncertain where sidewalks will end or the distance of a particular course.  So I have been feeling it out a bit and trying to see what works.  Unfortunately I am having a hard time keeping my running pace steady and often find for the first ten minutes or so I go to fast and by a short bit I am worn out and end up going really slow or walking.

My starting point for my new running route is the same building used for the CDC in Walking Dead (Really the Cobb Energy Performance Arts Center).

My starting point for my new running route is the same building used for the CDC in Walking Dead (Really the Cobb Energy Performance Arts Center).

Part of it might be reticence and fear of re injuring the ankle. The other part might be one off pacing or it could be simply a matter of not running for a few weeks while healing the foot injury.  Honestly I do not know why I am slowing down so much and even frequently walking.  My legs and lungs feel strong and capable and I feel like I should be able to push on and run the entire route.

This morning was one of those mornings where nothing went as it should.  I only ran a mile and a half and ended up frequently walking. Of course one issue might be the cold, it burns the lungs a bit.  I have tried a buff, but find they restrict too much air.  Besides stopping and starting I also found my pace was continually up and down and had no consistency.

My solution to this of course is to just focus on doing the entire run during my brick work and to just focus on finishing the distance and have some fun. I am sure all will be fine and it was just a small matter of a bunch of factors, especially unfamiliarity with the area and nearly bitter cold weather.  I just hope this is not a sign of the future.  I am sure all will be back to normal come race day, I just have to keep focused and get myself as ready as possible in the time allotted.  Til  next time,

One comment

  1. Yay for you! Hey, you got out there and made it happen, that’s what matters. Makes me want to get off my lazy-grading-papers-ass and get some run in this morning. Thanks for the motivation!

Leave a Reply

