A Bit More Planning Required

images (9)As you might know, I recently had a forced change in work venue.  My previous job let me work from home and the hours were flexible.  This allowed me to be home for work and to have a very open workout and work schedule.  Additionally meals were easy as I had an entire refrigerator of food and a wife who would make sure I ate frequently.  But this circumstance is different now.  I now own a commute and a desk in an office in downtown Atlanta.  Start and end times are a bit dynamic, but not as freely available as being able to go for an hour and a half lunch swim or run.  This all adds up to a tighter management of every aspect of my training, work and home life.By change, I mean big change.

Not including my  work clothes these are my bags I have to take to the car every morning. Two gym bags, my laptop bag and a lunch bag(the big square one in the middle).

Not including my work clothes these are my bags I have to take to the car every morning. Two gym bags, my laptop bag and a lunch bag(the big square one in the middle).

My workout schedule now is planned carefully allowing for workouts before and after work.  The before workouts have to consider getting to my job on time as well as being useful and productive.  I am now using a gym closer to my employment to reduce commuting times, but it is busier and not as well maintained.    Because I am at a different gym I have had to move my classes and workouts to different times and often now find myself doing morning pilates, strength and short swim sessions with spin and run sessions reserved for the evening when I have more available time. Unfortunately this leaves little time in the week for much more than working and eating and sleeping.

Current daily schedule

  • 4:30 – Wake Up
  • 5-5:30 – Out the door
  • 5:45-7:45 – Gym/Workout 1
  • 8:00-8:30 – Begin Work
  • 5:00-6:00 Leave Work
  • 6:00 – 9:00 Workout 2
  • 9:00 -10:00 Dinner
  • 10:00 Bed

Of course not being home to change has a giant impact on my planning for each day.  I usually have to pack my work clothes for the next day,  swim clothes, my evening workout clothes and evening clothes for after my time at the gym.  I find I carry and plan allot of clothing each day just to prepare for each workout session.

Another change is in food preparation  I find I have to carry a huge bag just to carry all the snacks and food I need through out the day to maintain my nutrition.  I discovered some cool containers that have their own freezer blocks so you can keep vegies and dip at the desk without it going bad as the day winds on.  Of course this too takes some thought and preparation.

I am adapting to this change gradually.  Thankfully the wife has helped tremendously with getting everything in order and scheduled.  This is my first week of this new regime change, slowly I am adapting to the changes required… It just takes a bit more planning. Til next time.

2 comments

  1. […] A Bit More Planning Required (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] A Bit More Planning Required (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

