What a Difference a Computer on a Spin Bike Makes!

imagesThis week is currently a recovery week, which means its a bit more relaxed than usual.  I am using it to get used to the new gym and my drastic change of schedule.  Working from home involved little planning where working in an office requires some planning and changes.  For me it involves finding a gym that is closer to work, making it easier to squeeze the required workouts into my limited time.  This week I am experimenting with two different spin classes and trying to adjust to a different environment.  One of the coolest things about this change happens to be the spin bikes. While they are the same make as my other gym, these bikes have computers attached to give watts, rpms and current gear.

new_compWhile I am sure the wattage, based on cadence and gear level, probably is not reliable, its awesome having some form of metric to latch onto while spinning.  I found my class last night was awesome, especially being able to figure out my rpms and my gear.  Also it was cool to watch my watts as I worked through the interval sets.  I think just being able to see the rpms really forced me to work harder than usual.  I just wish there was some sort of ability to record the data so I could at least record it and see how it changes with time.

I have one more spin class this week with a different instructor.  The one from last night was awesome, a good mix of varied intervals and just the right amount of minimal out of saddle work.  Tomorrow night will be a different instructor and I am hopeful I will find two spin class instructors I like. Of course I will be adding an hour or so afterwards at a lower heart rate and rpms.  While the new gym is miserably overcrowded, at least the spin classes and equipment has been good so far.  Til next time.

5 comments

  1. How clever, I’d love if my gym had those.

  2. Kinda obvious, but since there is some variability of wattage from machine to machine, try to use the same bike when you can to have some constancy for that metric. These machines also read the polar heart rate monitors which is another variable you can watch to gauge your effort. Another hint: use a measuring tape to measure the bottom of your pedal stroke to your seat and bring that measuring tape to your class to find out which seat height closely duplicates your bike. I also bring the seat afar forward, and drop the handlebars all the way down. Almost every time the class is in seated position, I drop to aero position to try to duplicate as close as possible to my bike. I bring two smaller towels and pad the area where my forearms lie across the handlebars. No, its not the same as being on a trainer at home, but it is nice to be around other people and different music.

    1. I always use the same bike as its the only one near a wall plug. I also use a heart rate monitor as its usually the basis for my long workouts. Interesting idea with the measuring tape, I have actually adapted the feel enough to where I can almost replicate my bike. Like you, on out of saddle moments, I dont do aero but I sit and still crank the tension. I am eager to get back out when the weather cooperates and see if my winter spin program paid off at all. I usually do a class or a class and a couple of hours extra or just a couple of hours with a close watch on heart rate and zone planned workouts. Thanks for the suggestions.

  3. […] What a Difference a Computer on a Spin Bike Makes! (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] What a Difference a Computer on a Spin Bike Makes! (chatterdoesfitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

