Week 30 Goals: Base 3 Phase Started

images (2)Hard to believe I have survived through 30 weeks of struggle and training.  This week I will start the 3rd base phase outlined in the Triathlon Training Bible.  Base 3’s focus, like the previous 2 base phases purely relies on increasing muscular endurance.  Each base phase is supposed to witness an increase in workout hours through the progression.  The first two base phases I progressed the hours well and increased my workout times gradually.  The last phase ( summary and review up later) hour wise was not terrible, but not as good as I wanted. In light of my desire to try and up the intensity a little bit, I am going to focus on the basics this week: solid running, biking and swimming.  The plan will be to focus on getting all workouts in as planned and pushing the comfort limits a little bit.  The end goal will enable the following week’s workouts to build upon each other.  The hardest thing with a vacation is the disruption in schedule and getting back on pace and track with  the pre-vacation established routine.  But I am determined to get my but going again and get myself ready for next March and my first Triathlon.

Week 30 Goals: Get my but in gear style

  • Aim for 9 hours of training – minimum of 8 hours
  • Continue to aim for a complete mile  (1500 meters) continuous swimming via 3 sessions through out the week
  • Run at least 3 times this week, and on the long day run 4 miles – on short days including speed – push for minimum of 3 miles.
  • Get 2 spin sessions and 1 bike session
  • Complete at least 1 strength and 1 Pilates session
  • Enter calories and track food seriously
  • Loose gained weight and water weight from cruise
  • Post trip details including open water ocean swimming experience!

Schedule

Monday: Swim/Spin

Tuesday: Run/Strength/Pilates

Wednesday: Run/Swim

Thursday: Strength/Spin

Friday: Long Run/Swim

Saturday: Long Bike 

Sunday: Watch Football

Pretty simple set of goals. As I mentioned earlier, this week establishes the following weeks of this phase so I need to treat it seriously and get myself going strong.  While I aim to push this phase for some serious numbers, I will continue to listen to my body and adjust as I feel is needed.  I should have a good week of working out as I had a good relaxing vacation and light workouts last week.  Time to get busy and get this next four week phase going.  Til next time.

2 comments

  1. You’re kicking butt and taking names….whatever that really means. :). Keep it up Chatt…you’re meeting goals and will continue to grow stronger.

    1. Every week, goal setting has become a large key to my success. Of course, flexibility helps as well, because schedules never work out the way you want them to.

Leave a Reply

