Today’s Itenerary: Grand Turk

A power snorkel unit. You grab it with both hands and let it pull you along. Supposed to make deep diving while snorkeling a snap.

Several years ago the wife and I took a cruise to the Grand Cayman Islands where I tried snorkeling for the first time.  It was an extremely windy day and the sees were anything but calm.  Regardless, I loved snorkeling and have dreaming about going ever since.  Grand Turk, the largest island of the Turks and Caicos island chain, is another island I have never visited before, but it is known as a diver and snorkelers  haven.  Grand Turk island‘s coral reef system is supposed to be amazing, full of colorful fish and coral and very extensive.  Within a very short distance from the islands coastline exists a 700-900 foot drop, often referred to as the wall.  My wife and I in anticipation bought our own snorkel gear so we would be more comfortable and it would have a better fit. The wife is not as good of a swimmer so we have decided that we would do a cruise ship shore excursion that utilizes power guided snorkeling.  I love swimming, but I do not mind trying something new!  

 

So this is what I am really looking forward to experiencing.  Armed with my Fuji xp10 everything proof camera, I am ready to shoot some video and pictures of all the coral and sea life.  Supposedly a number of barracuda and a few smaller sharks like to swim around these waters so it should be really fun. Til next time.

One comment

  1. That’s on my bucket list.. Good for you! Enjoy and I’m looking forward to the pictures.

Leave a Reply

