Week 29 Goals: Base 2 Week 5 Recovery

This weeks goals will be different as they will be arranged around my vacation schedule.  I added a 5th week to this plan just for the sake of having the two coincide.  The advantage of merging my vacation and my recovery week stems from the realization that I will be doing allot of nontraditional cross training activities this week, like snorkeling  and sightseeing.  My vacation will consist of a five day cruise to the Caribbean on-board the Carnival Destiny.  This will be the first time I go on vacation and still get some regular exercise in as I plan to do some running on the cruse ships track which is the highest point on the ship.  I have posts planned for everyday of this week so that will continue like normal.  A few activities that I am looking forward to trying including ocean open water swimming and snorkeling as well as possibly some island trail running on a port of call or two.  Overall I am looking forward to spending some quality time with the wife as well as get in some rest and relaxation before returning to the training grind.

Week 29 Goals: Bahama Style

  • Get 2 runs – at least one on the ship track
  • Open water swim in the ocean
  • Possibly some island running
  • Take tons of pictures
  • Snorkel in Grand Turk
  • Quality time with the wife

Schedule (On a cruise this is called an itinerary)

Monday – Depart Miami

Tuesday – Run/Bahamas

Wednesday – Run/Open Water Swimming /Relaxation Half Moon Cay

Thursday – Grand Turk and snorkeling

Friday – Run and day at sea (lots of swimming)

Saturday – Back home

Most of this week is a take it as it goes week.  I want to get a run or two in so my legs are ready for the start of the next phase of my training, but I am not going to stress too much. One interesting thing about this trip is that it is the first I will have taken since quitting nicotine and smoking, so for the first time, no pictures with me holding a cigarette!  Check back daily as I plan to still post.  Just know that I will be enjoying myself in the sun and surf this week and might not reply to comments.  Til next time.

One comment

  1. Enjoy the Bahamas! I’ve never been on a cruise before…maybe next year for our 25th. Don’t miss the skeet shooting off the top of the ship! Not many calories burned, but OH so fun. Safe travels. Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

