November Is American Diabetes Month

I wanted to post this yesterday, but the schedule got a little crazy.  October is now gone and now it is November, which is American Diabetes Month according to t he American Diabetes Association.  As most people know who follow this blog, I am a type 2 diabetic.  Fortunately due to training my diabetes is improving and is less stressful than most people and children with diabetes.  While I am focusing on the last four months of triathlon training, I am also focusing on my participation in a great event that will give back to the diabetes community, helping to fund research and fund programs to assist people living with diabetes.  My part in this endeavor is two fold.  Firstly, I have agreed to fund raise for the event, setting my goal at 1000$ by next May 19th.  Secondly I have decided that if I can help to raise money and people are going to be generous and help support a great cause, I could do more than ride 20 or so miles, I am going to shoot for a century distance.  So, next may the Tour De Cure event to raise money and awareness of diabetes is a one day cycling event.  I am going to shoot for 100 miles on that day.  

So in light of this being the second day of November I wanted to share my donation page and encourage every one to seriously thing about making a commitment to this great cause and donate today.  It is a tax deductible donation and amounts can be as little as 5 bucks.  I know it is six months away, but lets really kick start this.  If you have already donated then I thank you.  If you will share my donation address with people you know and help me to spread the word, I will greatly appreciate it.  This cause I believe is important and I want to give back and support something I truly believe in and have seen the effects personally.  My donation page: http://main.diabetes.org/goto/avanwierenATL .  Lets do this!

 

 

Til Next Time.

5 comments

  1. You will do fine in your Century ride, keep up the good work.

    1. Yeah, I figure as long as I add 20 miles a month per long ride I will be fine. So this month I need to ride 20 miles in one trip, next month will be 40 and so forth. I pull off the triathlons, century and what ever else comes up and next year at this time is going to be one heck of a reflective moment. Heck, it will be that if I try as hard as I can and I succeed 90% of my goals. Thanks for the encouragement.

      1. You’ve got a solid plan there. Good luck!

  2. That’s a crazy bunch of miles! Wow! Talk about some great goals! So here are my commitments to you…I will find a similar race to complete in my area by next May that will benefit Diabetes. Doing research tonight!

    1. Sounds like a plan,great idea. Excited to see what you come up with. Any other takers?

Leave a Reply

