Mental Health Morning

I was supposed to get up early this morning and go run my speed run, but I never made it.  As soon as I turned off my siren of an alarm and headed out to get my morning coffee, I knew that the morning workout was in jeopardy, my mind screamed for a couch and television morning.  I don’t  know why, but I felt I really needed some time to just chill, lie on the couch and do nothing for a few hours.  That is what I did.  So, the most unproductive morning I have ever had in the last few months.

Taking the morning off and vegging on the couch should not cause my schedule too many problems, I deserve a morning to myself every once and again.  You see, I work from home, my wife does not work so is always home, she hates television.  All these factors means, except when working out we are always together, which is not a terrible thing, but occasionally I just want to lie on the couch and watch television.  I used to do this for a couple hours in the morning before I started my crazy work out schedule. Now I rarely watch more than an hour at a time and that is usually when I am eating breakfast before working out.

As mentioned, when I woke up this morning I just felt like I needed some time on the couch.  So I lied there and watched mindless crime dramas(figuring I have a background in forensic anthropology its sorta ironic) and spent some time with my cats.  Mentally it was very therapeutic and just what I needed.  Back to work, break is over.  So I still have a swim this afternoon and a workout session this evening and then tomorrow morning I will do my speed run.  Not the way I had it planned, but sometimes we have to listen to our minds and not just our bodies. Til next time.

9 comments

  1. Its nice every now and then to get away from the routine. In fact I think it can help you just as much as a great workout can. You cant let your body and your mind get worn down. Have a great swim tonight and keep up the good work.

    1. It was the first time I hit this point in the last several months. My recovery weeks usually cover this, but last week was so stressful with my first 5k. Thanks.

  2. I think it’s really important to listen to your body and adjust your schedule as necessary. It sounds like you’re not even really going to have a lazy day, so especially well done you!

  3. sounds like a well deserved rest period

    1. Yeah, but last week was recovery, I barely did 4 hours instead of my normal 8 or so. I think the anxiety of my first race this last Saturday wore me out. I just needed some time on the couch and now I am off to go swim and lift weights tonight! No rest for the wicked.

  4. Sounds wonderful! My afternoon tomorrow just freed up and I’m looking forward to being home by myself doing some catch up in some areas. Your cruise is just around the corner. Exciting time!

  5. I know the feeling and had an entire week last week that sounded and felt a little like this. What I figured is that triathlons are endurance sports with endurance training. Taking a little break every now and then isn’t going to keep us from acheiving our long term goals. Way to get back after it…

  6. […] this would be Wednesday, but yesterday morning I took a mental holiday and did not get it completed.  So, I did my weight lifting last night and ran this morning.  This […]

  7. […] tired but good. I hate mixing running and spinning in the same day, but Wednesday’s ‘Mental Health Morning’ messed up my schedule and I still wanted to get a speed run workout in before this weekend. […]

Leave a Reply

