Lets Fight Diabetes Together

Help me to fight diabetes today.

As most of you know from my previous post I have resigned myself to riding a century bike event for a diabetes fundraiser, the Tour De Cure.   The Tour De Cure is a nationwide event where thousands of people in different states will be raising money to help raise money for the American Diabetes Association (ADA) to help fund research and programs.  Diabetes is a growing problem that is not purely solved by exercise and diet alone.  As I have mentioned before I personally suffer from type 2 diabetes.

My primary responsibility in this event then is twofold.  1. Ride in the event. 2. Raise money for the ADA meeting my set goal, possibly exceeding it.  The first part I am working on training and preparing.  The second part, I have started to promote my fundraising website. I know it is early, there is still 6 1/2 months to go till the ride.  But guess what, people have a habit of putting these things off and then remembering them at the last minute or totally forgetting them.  This is something that is a big deal to me.  Something that I truly believe in.  That is why I set my goal decently high. I know I can raise 500$ from immediate friends and family, but I figured through my blog and the athletic communities I belong I should be able to raise additional funds.

The amounts do  not have to be large, they can be as small 5 bucks or as large as your imagination.  I know we are nearing the holiday season in the next couple of months and money has to be planned for holiday expenses and most will be thinking I will give at the beginning of next year.  That is fine with me, but how about this,go right now and mark a date on the calendar, bookmark this page: http://main.diabetes.org/goto/avanwierenATL . Set a date for yourself when you will be able to contribute.  Circle it in red, make it bold whatever, add it to your planning.  Then share the page with other people you know so they can also donate.

I know it is hard to get excited to act now with the event months away, but now is the time to get this rolling and moving. Now is the time to pen it onto our calendars and financial plans and set a date when we will contribute.  Now is the time to tell others and share with them this wonderful event to help fight diabetes and maybe help one day find a cure.  If you read this and have a blog and want to share this site:  http://main.diabetes.org/goto/avanwierenATL with others or create a permanent link on your website, go ahead, I love the idea. I want to reach as many people as possible and support this cause.

Back in may of this year I made a goal to myself to better my health and fitness, to transform myself and for the first time I believed I could achieve something that I thought was impossible, I realized I could run in a 5k, I could do a triathlon and  a season of triathlons… I could achieve great heights, I just had to set my goals, make a plan and believe in myself.  I now want to add another element, a necessary element to this, I want to be able to give back and use my new found fitness to support my community and help fight diabetes.  This is my way of giving back and being involved, riding and raising money for a good cause.

Til next time.

P.S. Did I mention that it is a tax deductible donation. Also, all banners at the bottom of my posts will take you to my donation page any time you want to donate.

3 comments

  1. Great cause! I hope you are able to make goal. It’s great that you have a heart to “give back”.

    1. It’s the least I can do. I had to mark my calendar to make a donation as my wife is spending the money for presents right now. Thank you.

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

