Triathlon Training Plan Base 1 Phase: The Run

Last week I started posting a series outlining the next four weeks of planned periodization training. The goal of this series is to identify my specific target goals and outline my strengths and weakness for each area of training.  I aim to specifically share my training goals and intentions to help identify what I desire to accomplish at the end of the planned phase.  As I mentioned previously, the focus of this phase rests heavily in improving endurance with some work on speed, mainly on improving form.   This post’s focus is on my plans for improving the run.

When I began the couch 2 5k program back in May of this year, I was in bad shape.  I had previously always focused on walking when I did cardio and not pushing it too hard.  When I started adding in the run intervals I quickly discovered that 30 seconds of running was too much.  Fast forward to today, I am up to almost 5 miles a week and my heart rate is constant as well, my lungs and breathing are steady and strong.  My goals in this phase is simple: run farther and faster.  The plan is to increase my leg’s endurance gradually by steadily adding to my weekly mileage totals.  Each week I will incorporate at least 3 work outs with the beginning of the week being a short and simple easy run to recover from the weekends long bike and running sessions.  I might eventually throw in some strides, depending on how fatigued my legs feel.  The middle work out will focus on speed through Fartleks and Tempo runs.  The final work out will be the long run day.  I am starting this with my goal aimed at running 3 miles and then steadily adding a quarter or half mile to it each week, depending on comfort level.  So the goal overall is to steadily increase the mileage I am running each week. Last week I got almost 5, this week I am aiming to get 5 miles of running in, with 5 1/4 next week and 5 1/2 following.  

I am hoping that while I am focusing on increasing my distance and always concentrating on my form that my endurance in my legs will increase and I will start to reduce my times. Right now I am running 2 miles in 36 minutes with a projected 3 miles taking 45-50 minutes.  First I need to run 3 miles to gauge how long it truly will take and second I then need to start working to see this number go down.  In my first run of this week I saw my time go down by a minute from last week, but I do not expect that drastic of a change every week.  It could be from an increase in bike riding and/or adding plyometrics into my lifting routine.  Not sure.

Also, in this phase I am incorporating my first 5k race on the 27th.  I am not sure if this is time chipped or anything, but I chose an event that would have a fun atmosphere and would be forgiving of my slow time to finish.  I am looking forward to doing my first 5k and eager to see if I can reduce this time as I progress with my running.  So overall this part of ‘The Plan’ is pretty easy and straight forward, just got to keep at it and keep striving for getting better. Til next time.

4 comments

  1. One piece of advice is to keep weight training. The stronger your legs are, the easier it will be to run. You want to aim for long lean muscle. Lots of squats, calf raises, leg presses, and core work. Its been a while since I’ve posted anything but training is kind of slow. Once my half-marathon is done I’m looking to get into triathlon training mode again. Ill try to keep the blog going through that period. I also like the donate banner for the Red Rider bike ride. I didn’t know you could do that. I might try to do that one. Good luck on your training this week.

    1. Not only does weight training help on the run, its a necessity on the bike!

    2. My goals always include 2 strength sessions a week. I will be doing a post on my weight plans here shortly so stay tuned. I do my core through Pilates, which is quite intense. The banner is a trick, in the widgets section you have a post footer section you can put stuff into including an image with a link. Its also where ‘Check out these posts’ come from. Don’t just admire the banner, plan to donate!!! Its for a great cause. Look forward to seeing your posts again soon.

  2. […] Yesterday I  continued my series of posts outlining my next four weeks of planned periodization training. The goal of this series is to identify my specific target goals and outline my strengths and weakness for each area of training.  I aim to specifically share my training goals and intentions to help identify what I desire to accomplish at the end of the planned phase.  As I mentioned previously, the focus of this phase rests heavily in improving endurance with some work on speed, mainly on improving form.   Since I have put together a couple of these posts now, I decided to create a base page in the menu dubbed ‘The Plan’ so previous posts can be read if so desired.  Today I wanted to focus on my preparations for the bike leg of triathlon training. […]

Leave a Reply

