Don’t Get Me Started

Do you have anybody in your life that can never be happy for your current success.  A person that no matter how far you have come still harps on the negative.  Let me give an example:  To date I have lost 30 lbs since April according to my doctor, which equates to 1 pound a week.  Since May I have gone from a size 54″ to 50″  waist (Technically I wear 48″ pants).  There is noticeable improvement in my look and in my fitness (Heck, my legs look more muscular every month and the veins are now prominent on my forearms).  I am the fittest I have ever been in my life.  Yet this person I know for some odd reason always wants to focus on my weight, not my success.  I often hear from him ‘When you lose more weight…’, ‘Once you finally lose weight…’ , ‘eat healthy and lose weight’  and so on and so on.  He knows where I was and where I am going.  Why does this person never say anything about the very noticeable improvements.

Today I had enough.  Today was the last straw.  today I got one of those usual comments and unlike my normal take it and be quiet calm demeanor I let him have it, laid into him big time.  I do not need negativity in my life, historically I can provide that on my own.  What I need, especially from someone that is important to me is support, encouragement,recognition and respect.  Is that really too much to ask for?  I know I still have a ways to go.  You know what?  I am working on it and there is visual proof.

I just wanted to get this off of my chest. If you are someone that looks fit and strong, think of what you say to someone who is fighting to change their lives for the better.  Think about what you are not saying can effect people. As progress happens, I relish the recognition from people I loosely know and associate with. But I really rely on recognition and support from the people that are close to me.

I won’t let this person get me down. Fortunately we have discussed it and aired it all out.  I feel better that I spoke up about it and finally put my foot down.  Well, sorry for the rant. Til next time.

5 comments

  1. ichoosetolivestronger · · Reply

    Rant away ! My co-worker still brings me clothes to borrow if I’m going out of town on a mini vacation. When I was at my heaviest weight she would offer some items and I would take her up on it. The weight issue is a topic avoided. I have lost weight and she has found more. She is such a great friend to me and we could be such a great support system…but she won’t compliment me EVER and she has NO interest in exercise. Even the other people in our office won’t say anything to me in her presence, Seriously? Why can’t people just be nice about positive changes in someone? Don’t know…but I feel sorry for them. I would be SO happy for them. Good for you chatter for standing up for yourself !

  2. I get ya. I really do.

    Thank you,

    Naia.

  3. You’re right, there are always going to be supporters and detractors. It show’s how committed you are to your journey though that you handled this the way you did. You could allow this type of negativity to frustrate you or depress you and make it an excuse for getting off track. You didn’t though, you confronted it head on and it sounds to me like it just added more fuel to your tank.

    1. Yes it did, add fuel. Thank you. I have talked to this person since and all is good now. This person is pretty close to me and I do not think he realized how hurtful the comments were. Standing up allowed us to discuss and get past the issue.

  4. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

