Overcoming Adversity

My initial reasons for creating this blog centered on the concept of accountability, a way to force myself to continue and keep going, to not lose focus.  What I discovered even more importantly was that through other awesome blogs and bloggers there was an enormous support network  providing encouragement and motivation.  Most importantly, I  recently have realized that this blog is no longer my primary source for accountability… instead my primary source was myself, I am accountable to myself first and foremost.

While Triathlon training is a new experience and slant on losing weight and getting in shape, this obviously is not my first weight loss rodeo.  Like allot of people who are overweight a good deal of their lives I have gone through many phases of previous successes and failures in enhancing my body image by losing weight.  In these previous attempts I usually decide it is time to do something. I get my eating habits in order and put together an exercise plan (these were usually focused around lifting weights primarily with little cardio).  Then for a month I would successfully exercise and eat appropriately.  I wold see some success.  But after that month, something would happen: car trouble, extended work hours, pizza Fridays, injury … what ever it was it would derail me a day.  Then for the next week I would spend every day saying tomorrow I would get back on track till a week went by and then a month and then several months.  Luckily for me I often kept off  the weight I lost, but this was my pattern for my adult life.  This is how I went from 365 several years ago to 320 this year.

But, this current training stint is different, it even feels different.  I think its largely because I found accountability in myself and have found reasonable achievable goals.  Up until my recent doctor enforced hiatus I have been training and staying on track for over 3 months.  We are not talking easy workout here.  This blog has initially helped with that.  Also, my goal to get in the best shape of my life and to do a season of triathlons has also greatly helped in creating a very real measurable goal.

I realized recently through my forced hiatus that what I really have gained above everything is self accountablity.  I am accountable to myself and no body else. Instead of being happy that I get to sit on the couch and enjoy relaxing I am trying to find ways to stay active, to keep myself going.  I have truly realized that I have to stay true to myself and my goals, I do not want to let myself down.  For the first time I feel accountable to me.  I have to continue triathlon training for myself. Not the people who read my blog (even though I love everyone who shares this journey with me), not my family.. no body but myself.    This realization might be the greatest take away I have from this down time.  For the first time in my life I am at the wheel and in control.  I am truly accountable to the most important person, myself.

Til next time…

3 comments

  1. You’re so right, training buddies and online friends are a massive help, but when you can find the accountability in yourself, you are really on your way!

    1. I never expected to feel accountable to myself, it was a shock to me. Now I am ready to get back to work… Once the doctor gives the ok.

  2. **Applause!!**. Exactly! The accountability I have found here has been amazing and It has been FUN. It certainly does encourage me and gives me a chance to “give back” and hopefully encourage others. but what would I do if we lost internet for weeks? Or could no longer afford access to the WWW? What would I do?? It is a great reminder that we have to still KEEP going. No one can walk this journey FOR us. It is our life…we choose to live ..or not live. Great thoughts here.

Leave a Reply

