Saint or Sinner…. To Party or Not

Yesterday I mentioned I am going away Thursday to Dragon*Con in downtown Atlanta.  Dragon*Con is basically one big non-stop four day event.  In my past trips I often did not sleep till very late, occasionally drank a little too much(don’t judge)  and ate terribly.  Things have changed though.  In six months I am doing my first triathlon.  In six months I want to be in the best shape of my life.  For the last four months I have toiled to build a strong base of endurance, becoming the fittest I have ever achieved.  So, how should I approach Dragon*Con … as a sinner or a saint?

I am thinking of aiming somewhere in between the two extremes.  Unlike any time in the past, my triathlon training is extremely important to me.  I do not want to set myself back because I got too sloppy and let myself go too much.  At the same time this is a once a year event that I just want to enjoy myself.  So I am going to have to remember the end goal and make some early decisions on how to handle certain situations and determine how to handle them before going.  I think I can let myself loose a little bit, but not let myself reach excesses.

So my list of pre-made decisions that will keep on track and still let me have a good time:

  • Alcohol is a different matter.  I rarely drink anymore as its empty calories and really does very little for me these days.  I figure I might have a beer or two and maybe a mixed drink or two, but I am going to aim to really limit the amount I drink.  This is really less of an issue for me than it used to be.
  • I am sure that sleep and bed will not happen as early as I have grown accustomed.  Aim for some and don’t fret too much on this.
  • Weights and workouts  pose a challenge.  The hotel offers some amenities  but I will probably have little time to use them as things are very busy during the day and nights.  I am not making an excuse on this, but con events go on late and start early.  Luckily this event is in 5 decently spaced hotels in downtown Atlanta, so that will provide a little bit of exercise.  I might swim on Thursday just because events don’t kick off til that evening and I have been curious to check out the Westin’s pool.
  • Diet is going to be a challenge. I don’t want to totally throw this out the window, but this will be the biggest challenge the whole event.  There are few healthy options so I might have to opt to eat as healthy as possible and allow maybe a couple of indulgence meals on occasion.  This will take a conscious effort and I might cave a little.
  • Drinking plenty of water is not an issue. I have always taken a few water bottles with me.
  • Need to frequently check blood pressure and blood sugar as I am just now getting these under control.
  • Have fun but always remember the costs associated with decisions.

So there is my list of what I will attempt to do.  By committing them to this blog I am now accountable. I am going to have fun, but not at the expense of all the hard work I have put into my training so far.  Thursday can’t get here soon enough! Til next time…

4 comments

  1. You’ve made good choices on that list. Stay strong…you’ll make it.

    1. Just trying to go into it with a game plan, might make it easier.

  2. Haven’t heard from you… hope you didn’t succumb to the devil on your shoulder!

  3. I have the same dilemma when I go away with the girls, my theory is moderation, be better than you were last year, excerise each day for a little less guilt. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

