Always Look on the Bright Side of LIfe

The title of this post says it all.  It’s this Monty Python song that has a random way of just popping into my head whether I am happy, sad or dejected.  It has a great way of lifting all situations.  I was going to say volumes about staying positive and not letting bad days and weeks and training sessions and …. and ….and everything get us down.  But, I think we all know this.  We all know that things will not always go to plan and sometimes a week just brings thunderstorms down on us.

Being strong and having firm resolve gets us through these hard times.  It makes us better at triathlons, weight training and as people.  What makes us successful is how we handle ourselves when life happens, when anything beyond the plan happens, when we happen. Fine, I missed a workout or I am having a bad week, what am I going to do to make it good, to correct the situation and turn it into a positive.  This is the question you have to ask yourself when things go wrong.  I ate cake or a piece of bread. Great, make a plan to eat healthy for the next week and outline it.

I am simply trying to point out that we are all human and we will falter. We will have bad days and weeks and we will mess up.  Its in our ability to change our outlook, dust our selves off and move on that truly makes us great and makes us successful in the end.  There are times I realize that its this ability to overcome my failures that has made me successful in my training and weight loss program so far.  I have not always ate healthy, but bad eating habits have led me to realize shortcomings and to firm my resolve towards good habits.  I have occasionally missed workouts.  Firming up my goals and re prioritizing them has led to firm new successful gym habits.  All I am saying is that you need to ‘Always look on the bright side of life!’  Til next time.

2 comments

  1. Thank you for these reminders. I’m going to have to remember to read this post again whenever needed.

  2. I needed it for myself as much as for the community of bloggers that are now a part of my life. It seems several of us had blah weeks last week and I realized I needed to put this to post for myself as well as everyone else know reads. Sorry for religious connotations in the video, hope this does not upset. It is a great song though, has been stuck in my head for hours.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

