I Don’t Need To Sleep Late This Weekend: I am Volunteering For a Triathlon

I have set my sights on participating in my first triathlon next year.  But, I have decided this does not have to prevent me from being a part of triathlons this year.  So I decided, at the last minute, I would volunteer at a triathlon this weekend and get a first hand perspective from the other side.  Cool thing is, this is an inaugural event and I will get to assist and be a part of it.  Not sure exactly what I will be doing yet, but I figured it would be great to help racers achieve their goals by providing a great racing experience.  Of course I will also probably blog about the experience, so its a win-win for everyone.

The kicker for me is that I have open water swimming on Saturday morning and the triathlon on Sunday requires volunteers to get there at 5:30, ouch.  That means a very early start for me.  I am so excited and can’t wait to experience an event behind the scenes.

Till next time…

5 comments

  1. You are going to learn SO much. How exciting! Looking forward to reading your blog!

    1. It’s an olympic/international distance. I had to check off where I would be happy volunteering so I chose the drink station and running help as they required a large number of volunteers. I also let them know I will be happy helping where ever they really need it. I am pretty excited though.

      1. You will learn SO much from watching. I love volunteering at races.

  2. Found out I get a free T-Shirt from the deal!!!! Max size is a 2x which I easily fit into now, but my chest, shoulders and back make it tight!!! Going to have to practice my Arnold voice while I wear it for the race!!!

  3. […] thing I am still eagerly looking forward to is volunteering for the Olympic triathlon I mentioned earlier.  Got my assignment email and looks like I will be manning a water station for the bike and run […]

Leave a Reply

